Thursday, November 15, 2012

DC Unlimited & Batman Unlimited

     

Time to take a look at some of Mattel's future releases in 2013.  In stores very soon you will be seeing Mattel's newest toy line that will feature some of DC Comics popular characters.  These collection are called "DC Unlimted"  and "Batman Unlimited".  The good part about these sets is that they will be "unlimited" in the sense that we could get some characters in their classic looks or some of the new DCNU looks aswell.  Lets take a look at the first waves: 

     

DC Unlimited Wave 1



The first DC Unlimited wave consists of the DCNU Superman and Flash as well as a very cool looking DCNU Hawkman. The Superman and Flash are both the same figures that were suppose to be part of the  DC Universe All-Stars toy line that I think fizzled out after Mattel came up with the DC Unlimited game plan.  Superman was released in the All-Star wave but I am not sure that its continuing.  The Hawkman figure was feature at some of the comic con shows earlier this year.  I thinks its an improvement over the last Hawkman we had from the Wave 6 DC Universe Classics line. 


Batman Unlimited - Wave 1


The first Batman unlimited wave consists of the new DCNU Batman as well DCNU Batgirl and a Super Powers version of the Penguin.  Again, this Batman figure is also part of the DC Universe All Stars toy line. Comparing to the many previous DC Universe Classics Batman figures we saw over the last few years, I'm glad that Mattel has given us a new head sculpt instead of rehashing the same old pieces.  Unfortunately  Batgirl, for the most part, is a complete repaint.  The only difference being is her belt is a little sleeker.  That being said, I think this paint job is the coolest of the bunch.  Than the previous releases which you can see here.  The Penguin's body sculpt is exactly the same as the version released back in the DC Universe Classics wave 1 set back in 2008.  The head is new though.  Accessories are also the same, just painted differently.



Next up is some of the DC Unlimited and Batman Unlimited figures we'll be seeing in the near future.

Batman Unlimited - Injustice Batman

First we have a version of the Injustice Batman which will obviously be part of the Batman Unlimited line.  To be honest, I'm not very impressed with it.  I like that its a completely unique sculpt but it just doesn't work for me.



Batman Unlimited - Planet X Batman & Batmite

Another Batman Unlimted figure will be the Planet X Batman and a repainted Batmite figure.....another no buy for me.  It is a decent likeness from the comic but my bet is this will be a peg warmer. 


 


Batman Unlimited - Dark Knight Returns Batman


And the third Batman Unlimited figure will be from the VERY cool DC Comic book and recent DC animated movie Batman: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 & 2.  If you haven't see the movie (part 2 comes out in January), be sure to pick it up for Christmas. You won't be disappointed.  As far as this action figure goes.  It's a very good likeness of the older Batman in the movies.  I am happy with this action figure but I was hoping for some more villains.  Come on.  Were's Ra's, Talia, a new Scarecrow, Croc.  So many Batman characters that they can do instead....uhhhh.



Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Watch this movie!


DC Unlimited - Wonder Woman
So far, the only DC Unlimited wave 2 figure that has been announced is the New 52 version of Wonder Woman.  It looks to be a similar, if not the same body sculpt as the DC Universe Classics Wave 4 version with the exception of the costume design over her chest and no belt.  The head sculpt appears to be a new sculpt and she is supporting a short sword instead of the axe and shield given with the DCUC action figure.  All in all not a bad looking figure and this gives you 4 of the 7 New 52 Justice League main members leaving us to wait for Green Lantern, Aquaman and Cyborg still.  Maybe they will be announced soon. 

Saturday, July 14, 2012

SDCC 2012 - Mattel DC Club Infinite Earths announcements

There's a lot going on this weekend down at the 2012 San Diego Comic Con and Mattel had some new announcements with regards to their DC Universe action figures.  Mattel has announced the monthly action figures which Club Infinite Earth members will be getting over the next year.  So far, Mattel has already released  The Golden Age Flash - Jay Garrick, Metron and Atrocitus.  Here is the rest of the line up, the first 5 or so aren't new but hang tight:



So, we already know, that for July 2012 there will be two releases: 


 First will be the monthly figure - Starman complete with a 2nd head. 


As well as the Quarterly OVERSIZED action figure, Red Rocket.  Price for this action figure is going to be quite a bit higher than your standard monthly releases.  


Coming in August 2012:

Another Flash rogue makes the cut, Mirror Master.  Comes with a couple sweet looking guns. 



Coming in Sep 2012: 


One I've been waiting for - Black Mask.  Love seeing these new Batman villains coming in and it looks like we'll get a few accessories with him.  I wonder why they didn't just use them in the Batman Legacy toy line, which appears to be at an end as I have not seen anything new with regards to this line.  Anyway, on to the next month.


Coming in October 2012:



Another Batman villain Poison Ivy, she looks great but no acessories.  Like the green skin version. Officially, we knew she was coming but weren't sure what month her release was.  Now its official.




Now we get into the new announcements for the Club Infinite Earths action figures. 

Also the Quarterly OVERSIZED figure coming in October: 



Elasti-Girl complete with a mini-version.

Coming in November 2012: 

Uncle Sam with Dollarman & Constantine


Coming in December 2012:

Platinum and Tin.  Much like Poison Ivy, we've seen these figures already but weren't sure of their release.  Also to be released in Dec 2012 is:


Lead

Mattel also pointed out that  "pending a min number of subscribers", the Club Infinite Earths will continue in 2013.  Assuming Mattel gets the right number of subscriptions, we will see the following figures:

Coming in January 2013:

 Saint Walker



Coming in February 2013

Phantom Stranger


Coming in March 2013

Elongated Man



Coming in April 2013

Orange Lantern: Larfleeze which we did hear about and was suppose to be included in the DC Universe All-Stars series before Mattel rehashed the line up.  

Also coming in April - for subscription members only:



Monseiur Mallah.  Looks like Mattel borrowed a few pieces from Gorilla Grodd on this one.

 And finally, the last figure announced - Coming in May 2013:


The Flash (3) aka Wally West.  


That Covers the Club Infinite Earths news from the 2012 SDCC.  I will post later on about more DC action figures at the show such as the Movie Masters and more news Mattel has announced regarding future DC Universe toy lines, so be sure to check back.

Friday, March 30, 2012

DC Universe All-Stars - Wave 1 changes

So it appears Mattel has decided to "Tweek" its DC Universe All-Stars line up for both wave 1 and wave 2.  This is probably a good thing.  If you recall, wave was was initially suppose to include Larfleeze, Batman Beyond (DCUC wave 4 re-release), Superboy Prime and Plastic Man.  I know, not too exciting....  Wave 2 consisted of the "New 52" JLA Superman and Flash, as well as Red Robin and a repainted Supergirl action figure.

Well, apparently there has been a change.  Although no official announcement has been made by Mattel, judging by certain online toy stores, it now appears that your DC Universe All-Stars wave 1 line up will consist of the "New 52" JLA Superman AND BATMAN as well as Red Robin and Superboy Prime. 

The addition of Batman and Superman to the Wave 1 line up is probably a good idea.  Introducing a new toy line to the general public, you might wanna start with your strong characters. 

Batman looks pretty cool.  Appears to be a new head sculpt and a raised Batman symbol on his chest. 

No word yet on what the re-vamped wave 2 set will look like.  But stay tuned. 

Also for those of you interested in Mattel's Infinite Earths Club, the following action figures will be released over the next few months:

May: Golden Age The Flash
June: Atrocitus (monthly figure) & Metron (club-exclusive)
July: Starman (monthly figure) & Rocket Red (club quarterly figure)
August: Mirror Master
September: Black Mask

One question - Where is Poison Ivy?? 

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Mattel at the 2012 Toy Fair - Batman Legacy, Movie Masters, DC Club Infinite Earths, DC Universe All-Stars

NYC this past weekend was the 2012 Toy Fair and Mattel did not disappoint DC fans.  Even though the DC Universe Classics toy line is ending, Mattel was showing off some upcoming new and previously announced Movie Masters, DC Universe Club Infinite Earth and DC Universe All-Stars action figures.  Lets cut to the chase and take a look and some of the shows highlights.



As far as the Batman Legacy toy line goes, Mattel showed off its Movie Masters action figures for the upcoming "Dark Knight Rises" film.  Above, you see the Tom Hardy version of Bane.  A hell of a lot different that the DC Universe Classics Bane.  It will be interesting to see how the character is portrayed in the movie as we all know, Christopher Nolan is trying to take a realistic approach with these movies.  



And of course, we have Batman from the Dark Knight Rises.  Very cool looking.  I'm wondering what the differences between The Dark Knight Batman action figure and this version will be.  I'm not sure how much the Bat suit has been updated for this movie. 



And the final Movie Masters action figure is of course, Catwoman.  Pretty cool looking action figures and I'm sure the Movie Masters collectors will be happy.  There will be 3 more Movie Masters from the Dark Knight rises each of the six figures will also include a piece of a collect and connect "Bat Signal".  Stay tuned for announcements on the remaining 3 action figures.  



Also coming in 2012 will be two new action figures of both Batman and Catwoman from the Arkham City video game.



Previously announced at the 2011 New York Comic Con, were two new DC Universe "Two Packs" which i believe are Toys R Us exclusives.  Mattel had the Boxed packs on display.  The first is the "Knightfall" two pack which includes a "Battle Damaged" Batman supporting an all blue cowl and a damaged bat symbol as well as a re-paint of the DC Universe Classics Wave 16's Azrael action figure.


The second two pack has been named "War of the Green Lanterns" and features a Sinestro Corps Hal Jordan and a Blue Lantern Kyle Rayner.  Kyle looks to be a complete repaint of the previously released DC Universe Classics Green Lantern Wave 1 Kyle Rayner.  I'm pretty sure the Hal Jordan is a complete repaint of one of the DCUC wave 17 Hals as well. 


Next up, we have some news regarding the DC Universe Infinite Earths Club as well as a few new figures on display.  We've see some of the figures that we can expect to see in the coming months but we also have release dates.



Jay Garrick (The Flash) above in the new packaging, will all be available for purchase on April 16th at the Matty Collector website. 




Metron will also be available on April 16th but only to those who has subscribed to the DC Universe Club Infinite Earths.  If you haven't subscribed, you're out of luck and be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for him on eBay. 


The previously announced Red Lantern Atrocitus will be available for sale on May 15th and then Starman (above) will be available for sale on June 15th



Up until the Toy Fair show, we had not yet seen a picture of the new Mirror Master action figure. (See above).  He will be available for sale on July 16th, 2012



Also previously announced but not yet seen is the new Poison Ivy action figure.  Unfortunately Mattel has not given us a release date for this.  She looks good and even though i hate the female sculpts because they are too thin, she is a must have in my opinion.




A new surprise was the addition of Black Mask to the group.  Batman fans will be really happy with this announcement.  Unfortunately, we have no idea when we'll be able to get our hands on it.  No release date announced yet. 



Metal Men fans will be happy with the addition of Platinum and Tin.  Personally, I will pass on these but a lot of DC Universe Classics fans have been asking for the completion of the Metal Men team so here are a couple more to cross off the list.  Again, no release date has been given for these figures yet.  




The final new DC Universe Club Infinite Earth action figure is Red Rocket.  Again, no release date announced yet.


And finally, for you retail fans, Mattel had their DC Universe All-Stars figures on display.  All already previously announced, these are the wave 2 figures:



Supergirl

The Flash (new 52 version)




and Superman (new 52 version)

The 4th and probably most anticipated DC Universe All-Stars wave 2 figure, Red Robin, was not on display.  

So there you have it.  All though the DC Universe Classics toy line has come to an end, fans can still enjoy a nice selection of action figures over the 2012 calendar year.   

Thanks for checking out Action Toy Review.  Be sure to check back for more info, news, previews and reviews on Mattel's DC Universe Classics, DC Universe All-Stars, DC Universe Club Infinite Earth and Batman Legacy action figures. 

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Batman Legacy - Catman

Time to finish up my review of Mattel's Batman Legacy Wave 2 set.  If you missed them, I've already reviewed Golden Aged Batman and Batgirl.  Click on the links to see those reviews.  This review will be on the third and final action figure of the set, Catman.


The first thing you'll notice is Catman essentially looks similar to Batman.  Mattel is basically using the same body sculpt for this action figure as it has used for all the DC Universe Classics and Batman Legacy versions of Batman.  Clearly the detail is different but basically, he the same size as Bats. 



The differences are the Catman is supporting a longer cape, the belt is more of a leathery look and the cowel is slightly different that Batman.


Close up, you can see Catman's eyes under his cowl, unlike any Batman action figure which all hide Batman's eyes (painted white).  Catman's head sculpt is good.  Cleanly painted blue eyes and we're seeing more DC action figures supporting a some stubble on the face (Captain Boomerang for example).  It looks good.  Catman's paint job is really good as well.


As far as accessories go, Catman is the only action figure in the Batman Legacy Wave 2 set that comes with something other than an action figure stand.  As seen below, Catman comes with to hand held claws.  I'm actually not sure if I've placed them correctly in his hands but they are pretty cool and fit well in his hands. 


There is nothing new here with articulation.  If you have any of the DCUC Batman figures, Catman has the exact same articulation.  Mattel has not changed anything here or added either of the new elbow or knee joints.


Overall, Catman is cool, and he is a good addition for you Secret Six fans out there (including Bane from Wave 16 and Deadshot from Wave 9).  Although Catman is clearly not one of the main Batman characters, it is nice to get someone new instead of seeing another Joker or Riddler.  I'm still waiting for a Ra's Al Ghul, a new sculpt Scarecrow and many more Batman Baddies from the Rogue Gallery.  Mattel, are you listening??
Anyway, go out and buy this bad boy.  Collectors won't be disappointed.  




 If you can't find these Batman Legacy action figures in at your local toy stores, then eBay is your best option.  with Wave 3 coming out very soon, you can expect to find some decent deals on these wave 2 action figures. 

To find Mattel's Batman Legacy action figures on eBay, click here.

To find Mattel's DC Universe Classics Bane on eBay, click here.

To find Mattel's DC Universe Classics Deadshot on eBay, click here.

Thanks for coming back and checking out this review. Be sure to check back with Action Toy Review for more DC Universe Classics, DC Universe All-Stars and Batman Legacy action figure news, previews, info and reviews.

Total Pageviews